The Faustian Pact

If you could make a deal with the devil…would you??

The Faustian Pact by Richard Savage

This is a question I have asked myself and it is a concept I have used for artistic inspiration for a lot of years now.  In a nutshell, Faust sells his soul to the devil, in return the devil gives Faust back his youth, unlimited knowledge and worldly pleasures.  There have been many stories, artistic works and operas, that elaborate on and reinvent this basic theme but as I see it the basic concept is there The “Faustian Pact”, an arrangement in which any ambitious person surrenders moral integrity in order to achieve power and success.  I think it would be fair to say I am a driven sort of person and I have considered what I would do to succeed in my various enterprises.  Would I make that deal with the devil? 

Success is a difficult thing to measure, is it the cash you amass? Is it the trinkets with which you feather your nest?  Is it the accolades and trophies we collect?  The adoration of fans?  Praise from your contemporaries? All or none of the above? Is it really that important?

Ultimately I think you have to be happy within yourself, ultimately Faust became dissatisfied with all he had, he yearned for “more than earthly meat and drink”.  I would be interested in your take on this and it will also be this month’s newsletter question. What would you do to succeed? Would you make a deal with the devil?  If you’d like to receive my monthly newsletter, you can sign up here.

As for me..  it was a done deal many years ago……

2 Responses to “The Faustian Pact”

  1. Nice topic! ;o) I’ve just been reading up about Faustian Pacts and I don’t think I’ll be signing my name in Satan’s Red Book! ;o)

  2. Blackvelvet Says:

    I’d feel honoured if it was offered but ultimately have to decline the offer . The price for anything gained in my eyes would be too high and I must have complete autonomy over my own destiny and prefer very much to entertain my own darkside than call to the tune of anyone elses . But then again I do look very fetching in Red !!! xxxxx BV

Leave a Reply

